Houston Endowment Headquarters International Design Competition

© MRC / Urban Tripod


The Houston Endowment Headquarters International Design Competition is a two-stage process.

Houston Endowment’s aim is to select an outstanding design team and concept design for their new headquarters building. Emerging, upcoming, international and diverse studios are strongly encouraged. That said, prospective design teams must also be able to demonstrate the necessary experience and a successful track record to allow seamless delivery of the project.

The competition is being managed by independent competition specialists Malcolm Reading Consultants (MRC).

Stage One – Expression of Interest

An open international call for participation that was aimed at attracting the very best design talent from across the globe.

No design was required at the first stage. Architects, landscape architects and designers who met the Search Statement’s requirements were invited to submit an Expression of Interest detailing an initial approach to the project, their experience and relevant design skills. Please note the deadline for stage one has now passed.

A shortlist of four competitors selected to participate in stage two of the competition. 

Stage Two – Design Concept

The finalists will be asked to create multidisciplinary teams and to prepare design concepts for the headquarters building. All teams will be required to include an architect registered in the State of Texas as part of their team at this stage.

Shortlisted teams will be provided with detailed briefing information and invited to visit Houston for a site tour and seminar. A technical panel will review the entries and produce a report for the Selection Committee, who will conduct interviews and select a winner.

Each shortlisted team that submits a compliant entry will receive an honorarium of US$50,000 at the conclusion of the competition. 

The Selection Committee will include Jesse H. Jones II, chair, Houston Endowment Board; Guy Hagstette, vice president of parks and civic projects, Kinder Foundation; Joseph C. Dilg, board member, Houston Endowment; Ann Stern, president and CEO, Houston Endowment; Tom Forney, president and CEO, Forney Construction; and Malcolm Reading, competition director. Two further additional members will be announced on the competition website in the coming weeks. 

The winner announcement is expected in November 2019.

Competition Timeline

Stage One
Stage One Launch

Thursday 13 June 2019

Deadline for Questions

10:00 CDT / 16:00 GMT +1 Wednesday 3 July 

Submission Deadline

10:00 CDT / 16:00 GMT +1 Monday 15 July

Stage Two

Stage Two Launch 


Shortlist Announced


Site visit


Submission Deadline




Winner announced